Taking Criticism

Standard

Over the summer, I applied to be the features editor of my university’s paper. I’d previously been the comments editor as well as a staff writer but I wanted a bit of change so I took a shot. This is something I’ve been doing more and more – applying to stuff. Even if I don’t think I’ll get it, even if it’s last minute, even if I might not be able to do it  – the experience of application processes and interview is almost as essential as the job itself!

But I digress.

So I applied for this features internship and I got it! (Needless to say, I was shocked). With Freshers week coming up, we’ll be publishing our first issue of the year and I wrote my first feature in about two years for it this week and let me tell you! That entire piece was a shot in the dark. But thankfully my editor was a godsend and helped me out a fair bit and at the end, he apologised to me because there hadn’t been time to send me the piece to correct and he’d done some edits and in his words – he was brutal.

There’s a grey area when it comes to editing someone’s work because you don’t want to change their work drastically but you don’t want it to go to the next stage as a bad piece either. I personally don’t have anything against him editing my work and am even grateful because now I’ll have an idea for next time. But some people have a tough time with criticism, especially when it comes to creative things such as writing. To them I say take it all with a grain of salt! At the end of the day, however much you resent it, you’ll end up going back to that same advice so as to better your work. If you’re just open to it to begin with, it’ll help you out in the long run AND you’ll be able to get more detailed advice.

So take that criticism as a gift, my friend!

P.S. I will be posting my written articles on here once they get published in the paper. So watch this space!

Leave a Reply

